Special Education


Autism and Behavior Programming Coordinator

Shawna Lopez
shlopez@center.k12.mo.us
(816) 349-3363

    • District (Office at Boone Elementary)

Process Coordinators

Maggie Voss
mvoss@center.k12.mo.us
(816) 612-4076

Jill Rush
jrush@center.k12.mo.us
(816) 349-3624

    • Early Childhood
    • Boone Elementary (Office Location)
    • Center Elementary
    • Indian Creek Elementary
    • Red Bridge Elementary
    • Center Middle School
    • Center High School (Office Location)
    • Center Alternative School


School Psychologists

Karah Chapman
kchapman@center.k12.mo.us
(816)349-3331

    • Early Childhood
    • Boone Elementary
    • Indian Creek Elementary
    • Center High School (Office Location)
Amelia Stern
astern@center.k12.mo.us
(816)349-3697

    • Center Elementary
    • Red Bridge Elementary
    • Center Middle School (Office Location)
    • Center Alternative School


Transition Coordinator/Contractual Placements

Kila Sommer
ksommer@center.k12.mo.us
(816) 349-3415

    • District (Office at Center High School)


Special Education Mission and Vision

Mission Statement: Through a strong partnership between general education teachers, special education teachers, and families, each student we serve will make significant yearly growth on the path toward college and career readiness, and the individual needs of students will be met in every classroom setting.

Vision Statement: All educators will effectively use data to drive decisions about their instruction to improve learning and behavior outcomes.

To meet the individual needs of our students, Center School District offers a comprehensive range of special education and related services for eligible students with the following disabilities:

  • Autism
  • Deaf/Blind
  • Emotional Disturbances
  • Hearing Impairments/Deafness
  • Intellectual Disabilities
  • Multiple Disabilities
  • Orthopedic Impairments
  • Other Health Impairments
  • Specific Learning Disabilities
  • Language Impairments
  • Sound System Disorders (Articulation and/or Phonology)
  • Fluency Deficits
  • Voice Disorders
  • Traumatic Brain Injuries
  • Visual Impairments
  • Developmental Delays (YCDD)

Important Documents and Websites

Important Documents and Websites for Parents and Educators

Powered by Finalsite