Special Education



Director of Special Services

Meagan Patterson
8701 Holmes Road
Kansas City, MO 64131
mpatterson@center.k12.mo.us

(816)349-3448

Executive Administrative Assistant

Shirley Brooks
8701 Holmes Road
Kansas City, MO 64131
sbrooks@center.k12.mo.us
(816)349-3308


Process Coordinators

Maggie Voss
mvoss@center.k12.mo.us
(816) 612-4076

Leah Schnare
lschnare@center.k12.mo.us
(816) 349-3624

    • Early Childhood
    • Boone Elementary (Office Location)
    • Center Elementary
    • Indian Creek Elementary
    • Red Bridge Elementary
    • Center Middle School
    • Center High School (Office Location)
    • Center Alternative School



Process Coordinator/Behavior Programming Coordinator

Shawna Lopez

shlopez@center.k12.mo.us
(816) 349-3363

  • Special Programs (Boone Elementary, Center Middle School and Center High School)

School Psychologists

Karah Chapman Ed.S. NCSP

kchapman@center.k12.mo.us
(816)349-3331

    • Early Childhood
    • Boone Elementary
    • Indian Creek Elementary
    • Center High School (Office Location)
Amelia Stern Ed.S. NCSP

astern@center.k12.mo.us
(816)349-3697

    • Center Elementary
    • Red Bridge Elementary
    • Center Middle School (Office Location)
    • Center Alternative School


Transition Coordinator/Contractual Placements

Kila Sommer
ksommer@center.k12.mo.us
(816) 349-3415

    • District (Office at Center High School)


Special Education Mission and Vision

Mission Statement: Through a strong partnership between general education teachers, special education teachers, and families, each student we serve will make significant yearly growth on the path toward college and career readiness, and the individual needs of students will be met in every classroom setting.

Vision Statement: All educators will effectively use data to drive decisions about their instruction to improve learning and behavior outcomes.

To meet the individual needs of our students, Center School District offers a comprehensive range of special education and related services for eligible students with the following disabilities:

  • Autism
  • Deaf/Blind
  • Emotional Disturbances
  • Hearing Impairments/Deafness
  • Intellectual Disabilities
  • Multiple Disabilities
  • Orthopedic Impairments
  • Other Health Impairments
  • Specific Learning Disabilities
  • Language Impairments
  • Sound System Disorders (Articulation and/or Phonology)
  • Fluency Deficits
  • Voice Disorders
  • Traumatic Brain Injuries
  • Visual Impairments
  • Developmental Delays (YCDD)

Important Documents and Websites

Important Documents and Websites for Parents and Educators

Special Education Teachers and Therapists

For a printable list of Special Education teachers and therapists, please click on the list below.


Special Education Teachers and Therapists PDF