Assessment Overview

EOC Overview


The Missouri Assessment Program assesses students' progress toward the Missouri Learning Standards, which are Missouri's content standards. End-of-Course assessments are taken when a student has received instruction on the Missouri Learning Standards for an assessment, regardless of grade level. For the 2015-2016 school year, all EOC assessments are available only online, unless a student's IEP indicates that a Braille, Large Print, or Paper/Pencil form is needed. Missouri's suite of available End-of-Course assessments includes: English I, English II, Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, American History, Government, Biology and Physical Science.

What kinds of questions are on the test?

  • Selected Response (also known as multiple choice) items are composed of a question followed by a series of possible responses. Students must select the correct response or responses.
  • Performance Tasks/Events allow students to work through more complicated items using real-world scenarios.

Are the EOC Assessments available in languages other than English?

No. All Missouri End-of-Course assessments are available only in English. A list of accommodations for English Language Learner students can be found here: ACCESS for ELLs

MAP - Grade Level Overview

Missouri is implementing a performance-based assessment system for use by all public schools in the state, as required by the Outstanding Schools Act of 1993. The assessment system is designed to measure student progress toward meeting the Show-Me Standards, 73 rigorous academic standards that were adopted by the State Board of Education in January 1996. Here is a brief progress report on the development of the Missouri Assessment Program (MAP).

Knowledge + Performance = Academic Success
To achieve the Show-Me Standards, students must have a strong foundation of knowledge and skills in basic subject areas and be able to apply what they know to real-world problems and new situations. Therefore, MAP must measure what students know as well as what they can do.

Subject Areas
The MAP covers three subject areas addressed in the Show-Me Standards — math, communication arts and science.

Grade Levels
State grade-level assessments are administered for students in the following grades:

  • Mathematics: 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 & 8
  • Communication Arts: 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 & 8
  • Science: 5 & 8

The Test
Three types of the items will be used on the tests to evaluate student achievement: the familiar multiple-choice questions that require students to select the correct answer; short-answer, constructed-response items that require students to supply (rather than select) an appropriate response; and performance events that require students to work through more complicated problems or issues. State-level tests for the mathematics, communication arts, as well as some performance activities for health/physical education will be incorporated into local assessment programs.